

No. GTU/GIC/SIH 2017-18/9211Date:22-12-2017

<u>CIRCULAR</u>

Τo,

All Principals/Deans/Directors of Engineering/Polytechnic/MCA/Architecture/MBA

<u>Subject:</u> Nominate teams from your Institute for participating in "Smart India Hackathon - 2018".

Our Hon'ble Prime Minister, Shri Narendra Modi, envisages a Digital India to bridge the digital divide in our country and further promote digital literacy in order to make development a comprehensive mass movement and put governance within everyone's reach in India. In order to work towards our PM's vision, MHRD, All India Council for Technical Education (AICTE), Inter Institutional Inclusive Innovation Center (i4C), and Persistent Systems organized Smart India Hackathon 2017, a unique initiative to identify new and disruptive digital technology innovations for solving the challenges faced by our country. The initiative was a huge success. To reiterate the efforts towards our PM's vision, MHRD, AICTE, i4C, and Persistent Systems is proud to propose the 2nd edition of this initiative - Smart India Hackathon 2018.

Smart India Hackathon 2018 will have 2 sub-editions – Software as well as Hardware:

- Software Edition will be **36-hour software** product development competition, similar in concept to Smart India Hackathon 2017
- The new Hardware Edition will be a Hackathon where teams will be work for 5 straight days and build their hardware solutions. This competition would be limited to only 5 nodal centres with 20-25 teams each.

What are the prizes to be won?

Prizes for the top winners under different categories are o 1st prize - Rs.1,00,000/o 1st runner up - Rs. 75,000/o 2nd runner up - Rs. 50,000/-

Last date of submission is **31st December**, **2017**

Participate and Submit Your Solution at <u>https://innovate.mygov.in/sih2018/</u> Know more at: <u>https://www.mygov.in/task/smart-india-hackathon-2018/</u>

> SD/-Registrar

Winners of : ICT Enabled University Award E-India - 2009 * Manthan Award - 2009 * GESIA Award - 2011 * Digital Learning WES - 2011 Award * AIMS International Innovative University Award - 2013